For @AllanaG13 My experience of transition – extract from previous post 

The Secondary v Primary v EYFS divide
In the mid 90s I first saw “no excuses” approaches in a secondary school . As a Year 6 teacher, I was invited by a secondary with a comparatively poor reputation among parents to work on a transition project where a maths teacher would be in my lessons and I’d be in year 7 lessons. It was eye opening from the first moments when a year 7 pupil was put in detention for removing a blazer without permission. Clearly we had very different approaches. I trained my classes not to ask permission for basic needs but to get themselves sorted quickly and follow routines that enabled them to stay focused on their work (I still use the phrase “unless this room is on fire or there is an elephant loose, I don’t want to be distracted and neither do you” I love the part of Jonathon Lear’s book about ignoring messages from headteachers during lessons). If a child in my class asked permission to remove a jumper, they’d be reminded that there was no need to ask. Being in year 7 was therefore a challenging but fantastic learning experience. I began to understand why secondary teaching is so different. You cannot have the learning relationships that primary colleagues build day in day out that have such a positive impact on behaviour. Consistency in primary education includes our presence all day, every day. At the end of the project I felt convinced that the promotion of understanding between KS2 and KS3 was 1) crucial to enable us to support young people at that difficult transition and 2) for the knowledge base of the profession to be more coherent. I also gained an understanding of why the zero tolerance (or what is now “no excuses” approach) strategy was used and it could be implemented hand in hand with very strong pastoral care and good provision for young people with special needs. The teacher I worked with is now Headteaxher and the school is many times oversubscribed.  
In the 20 years since that transition project I have seen the profession go backwards as, rather than develop ways to promote understanding, the divisions and misconceptions between secondary and primary have increased. There are notable exceptions. A conversation with @shadylady222 highlighted superb work she has been involved with between secondaries and primaries in the south west. It is the strength of social media that we can be more easily connected enabling me to develop understanding through those conversations. Sadly, the way social media is also used to point score and grandstand has led to the promotion of comments rooted in ignorance of other professionals’ contexts. I have, at times, resorted to frustration at those in other age phases who “don’t get it” in eg the context of the importance of relationship in teaching. @imagineinquiry had to remind me that if I had a change of class every 45 minutes my teaching would look very different. Before anyone speaks of teaching as a single entity, they need to work across the age phases. Unless they do that, they should preface remarks with reference to the relevant age group. We should recognise that we have a huge amount to learn from each other. Everything that I have said about KS2 and Ks3 transition can be reiterated for EYFS and KS1.

Leave a Reply

